Forums Home
Illustration of people sitting and standing

New here?

Chat with other people who 'Get it'

with health professionals in the background to make sure everything is safe and supportive.

Register

Have an account?
Login

cancel
Showing results forย 
Search instead forย 
Did you mean:ย 

Our stories

sonnenschein
Casual Contributor

Trying to rebuild a relationship

Hi, this is my first time posting and I am looking forward to meeting people with similar experiences. I want to first share my story (I will make it as short as possible) and then I need advice on what to do next.

M were together for about 8 years before he had his first major, crippling depressive episode. We were together since we were 16 and during that time, he had been diagnosed with bipolar and it is rife within his family. He had many episodes of depression, but nothing as bad as what was to come. Because we were so young and didn't know anything about depression, I often thought he was just being a jerk. I now know different. Anyway, when the breakdown came, I stayed with him for a further 2-3 years. We were always close but I ended up being completely involved with his depression to the point I had no life or identity of my own anymore. I read as much as I could about it, I stayed in bed with him and took time off work because I was so scared that he wouldn't survive the day if I left. When I did leave him, I was constantly calling or messaging to make sure he was basically still alive. If he didn't answer I would get onto his family and become super anxious. I started seeing a psychologist because I was crying all the time and struggled to get out of bed, which is the opposite of how I really am. She said I needed to back off basically, but it is easier said than done and I wasn't in the right frame of mind.