Forums Home
Illustration of people sitting and standing

New here?

Chat with other people who 'Get it'

with health professionals in the background to make sure everything is safe and supportive.

Register

Have an account?
Login

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Welcome & getting started

Charms1209
New Contributor

Seeking info for 17yr old possibly having BPD

This is my first time posting here. I am soo lost and confused at the moment. My daughter had struggled with her mental health for past 3 years. We have seen various psychiatrists and therapists but recently we have been told ( not formally diagnosed yet) that she may have BPD. She has attempted suicide on 3 occasions, self harms regularly, reckless behaviour, unable to keep friends, mood swings, difficulty at school, self image issues etc. 

Her father passed away in 2012 so she has some past trauma. 

i am the mother looking after her solely-  is not close to her step father or her biological sister. It has been very stressful for me dealing with this by myself. I don’t know how to talk to her, bec the moment I pull her up for something bad she’s done,  she tries to take her like. She’s been in a pvt clinic twice. She’s unable to complete her HSC this year as she may also have adhd. 

i am just soo frustrated as I don’t think we have found the right dr to formally diagnose her. I don’t know where to go next. She’s taking a whole lot of medications for her depression as the dr thinks she’s clinically depressed. He says he can’t diagnose her yet for BPD S she too young. She will be 18 in sept. 

any help would be highly appreciated. we are in Sydney. 

2 REPLIES 2

Re: Seeking info for 17yr old possibly having BPD

Hi @Charms1209 ,

I'm sorry to hear how much you are struggling with your daughter. I that you are doing what you can to support her, yet at the same time it, is very difficult.