Illustration of people sitting and standing

New here?

Chat with other people who 'Get it'

with health professionals in the background to make sure everything is safe and supportive.

Register

Have an account?
Login

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Our stories

2Confused
New Contributor

Medication Refusal

Hi, i'm new to this but really need some advice from other people who may have a similar situation. My husband was diagonised bipolar about 3 years ago he also has social phobia. We have been through many depressive and manic episodes, the manic episodes now have him extremely agitated and aggressive - no physical violence though. We have 3 teenage children, my hisband has had councilling on amd off but refuses to take any medication, i feel like i have had enough and don't want to continue to put my children through a situationthat is not going to improve. I guess i feel like my husband is not taking any responsibilty for his illness, if he is not going to take medication he is not interested in maintaining our relationship but i also feel incredibly harsh asking him to leave!

6 REPLIES 6

Re: Medication Refusal

@2Confused 

What is your husbands opinion on his medication? Have you asked him why he doesn't want to take it? Where you involved in any of his treatments as a support or carer?

I do think what your feeling about your situation is a very normal one. Yes a person has to be responsible if and when they are ready to start taking steps towards their recovery- or maintenance of their MI.

Has any one else been in similar situations with their partners here on the forum?

Hi, I can't offer any advice because every situation is different and every person is different. But I can tell you my experience ( which is only 1 experience)