Forums Home
Illustration of people sitting and standing

New here?

Chat with other people who 'Get it'

with health professionals in the background to make sure everything is safe and supportive.

Register

Have an account?
Login

cancel
Showing results forย 
Search instead forย 
Did you mean:ย 

Welcome & getting started

Otter123
New Contributor

Post traumatic stress advice please

Hi! I'm new to this and looking for some advice and support as I'm struggling to understand my partner's behaviour and want to learn more about it. We've been together for ~8 yrs and have a preschooler with another on the way soon. He's always had anxiety and depression, which was managed ok. In the last few years, he's become increasingly attached to his mobile phone (my son has to compete a lot for attention and often joins in on what he's looking at to get closer to him), is terrible with finances and just spends $, binges on junk food daily, is a workaholic (but is better with his new job this year) and is cold emotionally (angers easily, prefers his own company and often overreacts). About a year ago he had a mental breakdown hospital admission (first time ever) related to bullying at work and working excessively and has not been the same since. The doctors suggested he probably had BPD although I don't think so, with differential diagnoses of situational crises, major depression disorder, adjustment disorder or Aspergers. Recently, after a year of treatment his psychologist thinks he's got PTSD. He often complains of being tired, usually has daily naps and god help us if we wake him up. He spends all of Saturday playing cricket and Sundays doing house projects or maintenance on his own (even though I tell him not to and to take it easy), so pretty much I do my own thing on weekends. Other than cricket, he avoids doing things socially. He's difficult to talk to, avoids lots of topics, and is sensitive to criticism/advice - so I don't understand what's going on. I'm worried about