Illustration of people sitting and standing

New here?

Chat with other people who 'Get it'

with health professionals in the background to make sure everything is safe and supportive.

Register

Have an account?
Login

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Welcome & getting started

Mh1
New Contributor

Christmas Psychosis

I am new to seeking support and have always battled through my husband's episodes with schizophrenia.

His first episode was over 20 years ago and will have gone through a range of medications and he is usually completely ok and has worked and maintained fulltime employment throughout.

But for some reason Christmas time seems to trigger him. I can't work out why. We can be with family, without family, travelling or at home, it doesn't seem to make any difference. 

I watch him become quiet, anxious, unaware of what is around him and reluctant to go out anywhere.

Then I wait.

I try to keep him focused on real life, family, enjoying his holidays. 

He seems to have an episode every year at Christmas.

But I'm tired.

I worry about our 19 year old son. He his so accepting and understanding but I worry. 

I'm not sure what I want from this post. Maybe it's just the need to be heard. 

4 REPLIES 4
Former-Member
Not applicable

Re: Christmas Psychosis

Hello @Mh1 

That is amazing that your husband has been able to maintain full-time employment throughout and how lovely your son is so understanding.

Yes, it is tiring and it does seem that people with MI do struggle around holidays/ Christmas, my husband, Mr Darcy is no exception. He has a diagnosis of bipolar ii (although at one stage there was a differential diagnosis of a rarer form of Sz).