Illustration of people sitting and standing

New here?

Chat with other people who 'Get it'

with health professionals in the background to make sure everything is safe and supportive.

Register

Have an account?
Login

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Welcome & getting started

Kylara
New Contributor

Cancelled Holiday again

Hi

This is my first time posting.

I am a single parent and carer for my elderly parents. 

I just cancelled my holidays for the 3rd time. My daughter and I were meant to be heading to visit family in the NSW border zone (from Queensland). I have had a break in 18 months because of covid. Every school holidays there seems be an increase in covid cases and a new more virulent strain, so of course the notification goes out that we should not travel or risk not getting home or having to go into hotel quarantine.  Neither of which are ideal with a 6 year old and parents to get back to caring for.

The first 2 times I cancelled I felt relieved that  we would be staying away from the risk. This time I just feel depressed and angry that this keeps happening and that I really need a break and my 6 year old is just as upset that we can't go to see poppy and nonna again.

The family we visit in NSW are great for looking after me and making sure I relax and recharge.  It's so hard when you can't get away and get a proper recharge. 

3 REPLIES 3

Re: Cancelled Holiday again

Hi @Kylara 

I feel the same as you.  I am a single mum too and caring for my parents who has alzheimer and dementia.  My sister is in Sydney while we live in Darwin.