Illustration of people sitting and standing

New here?

Chat with other people who 'Get it'

with health professionals in the background to make sure everything is safe and supportive.

Register

Have an account?
Login

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Welcome & getting started

ROB77
New Contributor

Advice

Hello! This is my first time posting. My partner has a history of OCD depression and anxiety. We're looking to move in with eachother in a few months, however we're having issues regarding my cat. I've had my cat for several years now and I find that she helps me manage my own anxiety, however she triggers my partners OCD. I've been coming up with solutions, such as off limit areas for the cat, and regular professional grooming and even an outdoor enclosure so she isn't inside in the living areas as often as she is at my house currently. However it feels as though the decision is already made that she won't be moving with us. Im struggling because I don't want to cause her any undue stress and anxiety, however I also want to be able to draw a line as to what my needs are as well. I was wondering if anyone had any advice? 

4 REPLIES 4
cloudcore
Senior Contributor

Re: Advice

Hi @ROB77 , welcome to the forums Smiley Happy

That sounds like a really challenging situation to navigate, I can hear how much you want to support your partner with their mental health and also how important your cat is for yours. It must be quite stressful. I don't have any advice for you, but I was wondering if you and your partner have professional supports for yourselves?

Heart from cloudcore

Hi Cloudcore, thank you for the reply! 

My partner has an ongoing psych and psychiatrist who they see, as well as being on medication. I have seen a psych in the past, however have not needed to for the past couple of years as I've been well managing my anxiety.