Forums Home
Illustration of people sitting and standing

New here?

Chat with other people who 'Get it'

with health professionals in the background to make sure everything is safe and supportive.

Register

Have an account?
Login

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Useful resources

Kelly123
New Contributor

what to do, feeling awful

Hi,

I'm a newbee here, and the mother of a 18 year old daughter who suffers from PTSD,  gender dysphoria, anxiety and depression. My partner and I have been coping with our daughters depression for the past three years.  She was bullied throughout school and in 2017 she was assautled by another student at school. Soon afterwards she came out as trans. She went into a deep depression and we have had a lot of difficulty gain suport for her transition and her mental health. She sees a private psychologist, but she tends to play down her depression. She has lost contact with many of her friends and is mistrustful of meeting new people. COVID has hit her hard, she was starting to try a few new things at the beginning of the year but has gone backwards.

I have found it really hard when she gets into a downward spiral, the smallest thing can set her off into a depression (yesterday it was not having bacon on her hamburger). She is tearful and morose for hours on end. She hasn't been able to go to school today (year 12). It feels like we are going thru a cycle of depression and anxiety for the umptenth time and I have a really hard time coping. I don't know how to help her, and I feel that helpless and sad. I am scared she will take her own life. She says that she will not hurt herself, but I worry constantly.\

Any words of advice or guidance would be appreciated. Thanks Kelly 123

8 REPLIES 8

Re: what to do, feeling awful