Depleted2
Casual Contributor

Psychologist support

Hello,

This is my first time here. My husband received a diagnosis of major depressive disorder (MDD) and then ADHD mid-late 2023.On reflection we believe he has been depressed for a number of years. 

Life is very difficult and has been for a long time. My husband is self employed with his business often not making enough money to support us with him having week long periods of him leaving the house but not doing paid work. The only person he speaks with other than me is his brother who works for him, and he is only aware of my husbands health due to me reaching out to him last year when my husband was having suicidal thoughts but refusing to talk to me. He works out of a shed at his parents so sees them almost daily but does not feel safe to speak with them about his health. 

We are currently in a cycle of something upsetting my husband (very unpredictable, but to be fair I have very little patience currently) and he will stonewall me for sometimes weeks on end. My psychologist has said we are living as a separated couple in the same house currently because he wont sleep in our bed. So many of our experiences as a family are clouded by my husbands mood, and my children are missing out on so much life. I love my husband so much but will not stay if things do not improve because there is a lot of emotional abuse that I am subjected to that my psych has helped me to see (stonewalling, gaslighting).