Illustration of people sitting and standing

New here?

Chat with other people who 'Get it'

with health professionals in the background to make sure everything is safe and supportive.

Register

Have an account?
Login

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Something’s not right

Angie23
Casual Contributor

Alcoholic brother

Hi all. I'm new to this and am having a big problem with my brother, who is an alcoholic. He's been in rehab before, but is now drinking again. I have begged him to go back to rehab, but he won't. All of the stress of this gets puts on me and I'm tired of it. It's causing me to be very upset. I get nasty texts from him. I have recently told some of our family that he's drinking again, because I need support and copped more abuse for doing that. Any help would be appreciated. Thank you. 

7 REPLIES 7

Re: Alcoholic brother

I've been looking quite deeply into Naltrexone. It's supposed to basically curb the enthusiasm for getting totally wasted, but you can physically still drink without any life threatening issues. I'm asking my GP tomorrow about it. It gets pretty good reviews though, happy to keep you posted!

Thank you

Hi @Angie23 

This sounds like and incredibly difficult situation for you. I can feel your frustration.

I'm sorry to hear that your family haven't been supportive. It sounds like all the stress has been put on your shoulders.

Sane's Support Services are there if you need to chat to someone 1:1 about everything going on.

Sending strength your way,

Rosie93

Thanks Rosie 

Helping people with AOD issues, sort of revolves around a stages of change theory.