Illustration of people sitting and standing

New here?

Chat with other people who 'Get it'

with health professionals in the background to make sure everything is safe and supportive.

Register

Have an account?
Login

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Our stories

Karrie
Contributor

just an update

So it has now been 12 months since I started my journey after the death of my sister (ending a 2 year period of 4 family deaths).  The first anniversary was last Friday.  Now whilst the day was extremely difficult and emotional, having the whole family around helped.  They have all now gone home and back to their own lives and I am sitting here typing this and realising how much I miss my sister.  

On top of this work is not great with so much time sensitive pressures.  Adding to that the behaviour of the kids (I'm a secondary teacher) is getting worse by the day.  I mentioned to the school how overwhelmed I was feeling and now it feels like they think I am totally incompetent and are micromanaging at every turn.  

I have amazing supports in place and have therapy once a week.  I am just really struggling to stay motivated and get stuff done.  I feel like I am falling backwards down a black tunnel and am getting further and further from the light.  I know I am not back to where I was last year but can't help but think the kid's behaviour at school particularly, has the power to send me back there.  

I am not really asking for any advice or anything, I think I just need to vent.  

4 REPLIES 4

Re: just an update

Hi @Karrie 

I’m so sorry for your loss. Losing multiple family members in such a short time is incredibly difficult, and the anniversary of your sister's passing must have been especially hard.

It’s understandable to feel overwhelmed, especially with the added pressures at work, I imagine.