Forums Home
Illustration of people sitting and standing

New here?

Chat with other people who 'Get it'

with health professionals in the background to make sure everything is safe and supportive.

Register

Have an account?
Login

cancel
Showing results forย 
Search instead forย 
Did you mean:ย 

Looking after ourselves

EssJay
Casual Contributor

Is my care receiver being abusive?

Hi everyone. Thank you for creating this forum. I am a new member to the forum and I am also very new to the live-in-carer role. I am really struggling with this man who I provide care to. I will call him George. I have known George for less than a year as my neighbour. I spent months caring for him in a limited neighbourly capacity and, at his request, I moved in and became his live in carer in September this year. His home was borderline squalid but I have cleaned it up and made it quite homely, comfortable and healthy. 

George is in his late 60s. He was obviously once a strong well built man but he is now rather frail. He has (among other things) COPD and type 1 diabetes. He also had a very bad MV accident 4 years ago and the totality of his injuries has yet to be fully determined. He suffers chronic pain to his back, neck, shoulders, and legs, but refuses to use a walking frame or even a walking stick. Also, his GP is currently investigating a possible ABI as a result of this MV accident. George's short term memory is best described as sporadic.

I guess my main problem is that I have failed to set my boundaries with him. I dontt know how to overcome this. It's not through lack of trying though. I now feel that he has no respect for my needs, feelings or opinion whatsoever. If we disagree on a topic he tells me he doesnt care how I feel; or "its not bothering me(George) so i dont care if it bothers anyone else; or "Well it's my house and that's the way I want it if you dont like it pack your s&@t and F&@? off."