Forums Home
Illustration of people sitting and standing

New here?

Chat with other people who 'Get it'

with health professionals in the background to make sure everything is safe and supportive.

Register

Have an account?
Login

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Looking after ourselves

HopefulWife
Contributor

Burnt Out Wife, OCD and Anxiety Husband

Hi all, 

I'm new to all this I have never talked to anyone about my husband's mental illness. My husband of 4 years of Marriage and 11 years in a relationship suffers from OCD and Anxiety.

The anxiety is mainly when having to travel a distance from the house or not wanting to go anywhere by himself so we go everywhere together. The going everywhere together has been getting to me lately, I need my space but how do you tell that to someone that has major anxiety if you even attempt to leave. 

The OCD I don't think helps the anxiety because as he puts it, it's like having a evil voice telling you want to do and if you ignore that voice it gets worse and louder.

I just don't know how to help, I'm feeling burnt out and stuck.

#anxiety #OCD

29 REPLIES 29

Re: Burnt Out Wife, OCD and Anxiety Husband

Hi @HopefulWife and welcome to the SANE Forums 🙂 

It takes so much courage to reach out for the first time, and I really value and appreciate the step you have taken to share your experience with us. 

That burnt out feeling sounds like it is growing for you, and I am so sorry to hear how difficult it has been for both you and your husband. Living with anxiety can feel really debilitating- as a fellow anxiety survivor myself, I could picture from your post what it must be like for you and your husband at the moment. Is your husband seeking support for the anxiety and OCD at the moment?