Forums Home
Illustration of people sitting and standing

New here?

Chat with other people who 'Get it'

with health professionals in the background to make sure everything is safe and supportive.

Register

Have an account?
Login

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Looking after ourselves

bipolarbunny
Community Elder

Ask Me Almost Anything About Bipolar

Hello forumites, I wanted to create a space where carers of loved ones with Bipolar Disorder could ask questions about Bipolar from someone who actually has it.

Perhaps you do not feel comfortable asking your loved one something about their illness, or maybe you are just working through what it all means to be Bipolar.

I have over 14 years lived experience with Bipolar 1 which translates to mania, depression, mixed episodes & rapid cycling. I also have bouts of dissociation & anxiety as a direct result of the Bipolar. I've received all sorts of therapies, tried living off meds and on meds and off meds again. I am currently on medication & do weekly therapy sessions with a clinical psychologist.

I am by no means an expert on the subject but through my own personal journey I have researched, experienced, made mistakes, had severe meltdowns, had tremendous breakthroughs, found what works, found what doesn't work and lived the daily roller coaster.

I appreciate how difficult it can be to have your questions answered, as it can be a frightening topic to address. I wandered around in the darkness for years before I knew what was happening to me. 

So I am happy to share my experience with you and help out by answering any questions you may have in relation to what it's like to live with Bipolar Disorder.

If I cannot help with an answer, I will do my best to find an online resource for you to read through, within the guidelines of the SANE forums.

So ask away, I am an open book. 

BB 🐰💙

@Peonies @Daisydreamer @Shaz51 

45 REPLIES 45

Re: Ask Me Almost Anything About Bipolar